Day 30- I DID IT!!!!

Thought: Well today’s the day- I did it!   My mission has been accomplished.   150km, 30 days and 30 posts later, I can say, YEAH!!!  Although there were no lines to cross, no medals to be given or no time recorded, it was an ordinary day that I achieved my goal.

As I look back at all the runs and the excuses I tried to make before going, there were really no good ones that were worthy.   There were many times I could have easily not gone simply for the reason of laziness or convincing myself I was too busy, too tired, too unmotivated.   Again, all unworthy.   The fact is I would have wasted 30 minutes doing something totally useless. Instead, I used that time to go for the run and felt more focused, alert, and well, happier afterwards.   Time and again, this would happen.

When we start a new project, there are some things we can predict- the frustration, the success, the time it would take.  What I liked about the runs were the feeling afterwards, the commitment to meet a goal, the physical changes, the ability to eat junk food guilt free.   I also came to realize that I liked to share my thoughts afterwards.   As much as this process has made me accountable by committing to it and then writing it down, it also gave me a platform to convey my thoughts in words.   This release gave me an outlet of expression that I had looked forward to it as much as the run itself.

So as I ran home today, there was no Chariots of Fire playing in the background, simply Low by Flo Rida.   How appropriate for a finish.   Because it is today, an ordinary day, that relationships are being restored, deals are being closed and projects are being completed.   Because it is today, that I achieved my goal to run 5km a day for 30 days!

Thank you to all of you who have supported me along the way.   I hope you have enjoyed this as much as I have.   I will continue to run and blog just not in the same capacity.   Because while a goal is good to attain, sitting back and enjoying watching someone else you have inspired do the same is also really rewarding.

Weather: 18c, Beautiful and sunny!

Time: 10:20am

Motivation: Final day!

About 5for30

Female in my late 30's married with 2 kids with the goal of running 5km everyday for 30days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 30- I DID IT!!!!

  1. Congratulations! I’ll be missing your daily blogs. They were something I looked forward to reading every day. However, you’re right in that you’ve inspired many people to challenge themselves to do something that they’ve always wanted to do. The change that people can make in their lives do not have to be large–just enough to know that they’ve made a difference for themselves, for their family, or even for the world. Thank you for inspiring your readers.

    • 5for30 says:

      Thank you for your kind words and in doing something for myself, I’m glad and unexpectedly surprised that it has done something for others. So great all around.

Leave a Reply

