Day 28- And the Winner is…

Thought: I won my first trophy when I was in 2nd grade for getting the third highest single in a bowling league.   I didn’t even realize that there was such a thing or that I was in one.  

Years later after I left home one of the items that was returned to me was my third highest single from 2nd grade trophy.   My mother had saved it thinking that it would add sentimental value to my life.   I didn’t quite frankly know what to do with it.   I couldn’t sell it, use it or display it because, well, it was a trophy for the third highest single bowled from 2nd grade.   I also couldn’t throw it away as it wasn’t even recyclable.

After that trophy, I did end up “winning” a number of other awards throughout the years.   These other ones marked my better achievements -school, sports, work.   They all, however, ended up in the same fate: in a cardboard box in my basement.   Why is it that we go through the trouble of rewarding ourselves with non-recyclable materials?   Don’t we know that we are wonderful and capable of achieving greatness?   Do we need to be reminded of this through man-made titles?

While we were sifting through the piles of items to sell at the garage sale last week, my kids came across the box with these items and said, “Wow, mom you got the Third Highest Single in Bowling?   That’s pretty cool!”  

To which I responded with pride, “Yep, in second grade.”

Time: 2:30pm

Weather: Showers, 13c

Motivation: Missed running outside so had to get it done inside before the motivation stopped.

About 5for30

Female in my late 30's married with 2 kids with the goal of running 5km everyday for 30days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

