Day 26- A numbers game.

Thought: As I’m nearing the end of my journey, I have come to realize the games I play with myself.   When I really didn’t want to go on these runs, I would make up games to convince myself it’s not so bad or even lie to myself.  Yes, you heard it.   The person telling and hearing the lie is the same person.   I believe we have medication for this.

Sometimes that’s what it would take- a little convincing, that it would just take 20 minutes and if I didn’t feel like it, I wouldn’t have to do the entire 5km.   When out there though, I know it’s a point of no return.   Yet, I somehow, manage to believe these stories like I’m hearing it from another person, a trainer, a coach- like I said, I think there’s medication for this.   Oddly my brain cells don’t synapse enough to make the connection and I go along with it.

Somehow, the countdown after the hump (the midway point) is always faster than the count up to the midpoint.   I remember this to be true as well when we used to go on long rides as kids.   Somehow, the trip on the way up was always longer than coming home.   Maybe, this is how it all started.

Well, 4 more days and I will be done my challenge- even if I have to convince myself that it’s only 2 more.

Weather: 15c, overcast

Time: 1:30pm

Motivation: Almost there!

About 5for30

Female in my late 30's married with 2 kids with the goal of running 5km everyday for 30days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

