Day 1-Here goes nothing!

Okay, here I am on day 1 of my personal journey and goal to run 5km a day for 30days straight. It doesn’t matter if the 5km is inside, outside, day, night but it has to be done in the 24 hours. I have done this before and got to day 20 and things fizzled.

So, I figure I’ll try an unofficial contract with the virtual world and see if I can motivate/guilt myself into doing this again. This time however, I’m going to track it better and see perhaps what worked, what didn’t and where I can change things when needed.

When I last tried this experiment, it was a challenge at first but by day 15, I was phyically feeling really good. I found trying to find the time was difficult even though it took 30 or so minutes to do.

Here’s my background. I’m in my late 30’s, female married with 2 kids and work full time. I’ve ran 1 marathon (most likely my one and only) and about 4-5 half marathons (can’t remember exactly). I’ve also trained for a half but never ran it. Since then, I’ve run 5km or so off and on. I’ve run with the Running Room and found it was a good motivation to run with people although, it sometimes depended on the group I was running with. The other factor is time. I found it was difficult to get to the clinic on certain nights because of work, kids etc. So, although I like to run and have tried to do it more often, I am in no way an avid, or professional runner.

I run with my Timex, Ironman Triathathlon watch which does the 10 and 1’s. It was cheap (around $50) which I bought at a fitness store that was going out of business. I’ve also bought them at Walmarts previously. I go through one around once a year as I wear daily it as well. It has the dates on it as I have a hard time tracking dates and it has a nice night light feature for checking the time when I get awaken at 2, 3 or 4 in the morning because someone’s gone to the washroom or my husband’s snoring. I’ve also recently bought a new pair of shoes which I was desparate for but they are so darn expensive and never seem to go on sale. This time, it was half price since a new model came in. In hind site, maybe I should have hoarded another couple of pairs since it’s good to rotate shoes. Something to think about when I need another motivation.

I haven’t done a race for a couple of years but training for it has all the benefits of a race. Someone once told me the difference between a race and training is the medal and it’s true somewhat. If it was a race I was running, I would run a lot faster but just training I tend to take it easier but have to admit I also enjoy it more as there’s no pressure -from myself to get a better time.

Somehow, after a while, I fear running, if that makes any sense. I’m sure there’s a whole psychology behind running but for now, I’m just focused on how I can achieve my goal of 5 for 30 and to enjoy it.

I like doing the 5km as it’s simple. I try to break it down into segments so that when I don’t want to go, it doesn’t seem as bad. So, it’s 3x10minutes or about 3 or 4 songs (as each song is about 3 minutes) before the next break or about 12 songs total that I get to listen to for the next 30 minutes.

I also like to run alone as I can go when I want, dress as I please (sometimes I don’t brush my teeth before going but who cares, I don’t plan on talking to anyone during that time) and can think through things. I also like to pick a topic to ponder whether it’s work or a project or food. It helps as I feel like I’m in a different zone.

I have been thinking of doing this for a while and there’s really no reason to start today other than as Dr.Suess said in Ol the Places You’ll Go, “Congratulations!
Today is your day.
You’re off to Great Places!
You’re off and away!”

So why not start today.

The last time I tried this I was on vacation and it was summer so I did somewhat have the luxury of time on my hand. I’m trying this now since it’s spring, I’m working and kids are in school. All factors that I would normally face.

As mentioned, I’m going to track things better this time round. I’m going to track my motivation, weather, thoughts, time, run. As I’m new to this blogging world, this is a work in progress. Wish me luck in my journey and I’ll keep y’all posted.

Day 1:

Current weight: 109lbs. Although, I’m not focused on this, I like to stay within the 3 lbs +/- to stay comfortable.

Motivation: I hadn’t run for a couple of days and I was working from home today so had the time as kids were at school and needed a break from working.

Weather: beautiful, sunny, no wind, 10c

Time: 11:00am

Thoughts: During the run, I was feeling good. I do the 10 and 1’s so I’m used to it. I run by 2 schools and I try to run when the kids aren’t out so I avoid being hit by a ball. I know, kinda quirky but that thought always crosses my mind when I run past a group of kids in the playground. During the last km, I was running behind a garbage truck doing the same route so that was motivation to run faster. I was thinking of whether to do the blog or not and if I could be consistent or what would happen if I failed?

Feeling: I felt good, as usual after a run. Again, I need to track why I don’t push myself to go as I logically know all the benefits.

About 5for30

Female in my late 30's married with 2 kids with the goal of running 5km everyday for 30days.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1-Here goes nothing!

  1. Ray says:

    One says that if you write down your goals one is more likely to review them and have a better possibilty to reaching them. Blogging has done this for you and I applaud you for your efforts. Your not middle aged yet. Is this one of the things on your bucket list?

    • 5for30 says:

      Thanks Ray. Definitely true about the increased commitment level when you write things down. This was not initially on my bucket list but I’m going to add to it now that you mention it so that’s another thing I can cross off and be proud of!

Leave a Reply

